Registers we hold

We hold and maintain 20 public registers.

Land Register of Scotland

This is our main register. Introduced in 1981, it’s a register of  land and property in Scotland.

The land register is based on the Ordnance Survey map, and contains plans of registered properties.

General Register of Sasines

Set up in 1617, this is the oldest public land register   in the world. We’re gradually replacing the sasine register with the land register. ‘Sasine’ comes from the old French word ‘seizer’, which means ‘take’.

This register is a chronological list of land deeds.

Crofting Register

A public register of crofts, common grazings, and land held runrig. 'Runrig' means land that is divided into strips that belong to different people.

Register of Sites of Special Scientific Interest

This register contains information on sites that Scottish Natural Heritage considers to be special due to their natural features.

Register of Community Interests in Land

This register is divided into two parts. It allows certain individuals and types of body to register their interests in buying land.

Register of Applications by Community Bodies to Buy Land

A register of community bodies' applications to buy land.

Scottish Landlord Register

The official register of Scottish landlords. It is a searchable public database of register landlords, as well as the registration portal for landlords to keep their records up to date and legally compliant.

Scottish Letting Agent Register

This searchable official register makes sure every letting agent in Scotland is suitable to do the job and has met minimum training requirements.

Books of Council and Session

The Books of Council and Session are part of the Chancery and Judicial Registers. They're comprised of three registers:

  • the Register of Deeds and Probative Writs in the Books of Council and Session
  • the Register of Judgments
  • the Register of Protests

Chancery and Judicial Registers

The Chancery and Judicial Registers comprise nine registers, in addition to the three that make up the Books of Council and Session.

Register of Inhibitions

This register is intended to publicise the names of parties who are unable to competently grant deeds in relation to property due to bankruptcy, diligence or insolvency.  Details about documents relating to these matters are contained in this register.

Register of Great Seal

The Great Seal is a mould that is used to create a wax seal. This is attached to official documents like Acts of the Scottish Parliament as evidence of royal assent.

Register of Quarter Seal

This register is used to record grants of property that have fallen to the Crown.

Register of Cachet Seal

This contains details of royal warrants that have been authenticated with the Cachet Seal, a facsimile of the monarch's signature.

Register of Sheriffs’ Commissions

This records commissions by the Crown in favour of Sheriffs Principal of Scotland.

Register of Crown Grants

This contains details of grants by Crown Departments and Commissioners of Crown Lands.

Register of Service of Heirs

This contains records of 'Service of Heirs', which is a way for someone to prove that they are the closest blood relative of someone who has died. This process allows him or her to inherit property.

Register of Prince's Seal

The Prince's Seal is used to authenticate deeds granted by the Prince and Steward of Scotland. The current holder of these two titles is HRH Prince Charles. This register contain details of the deeds to which this seal has been applied.

Register of Hornings

This register contains records of Letters of Horning, which publicly denounced a debtor as an outlaw. These letters are no longer used, and the function of this register is now fulfilled by the Register of Inhibition.